Multimedia & Contiguity Principles – 513 DB #1

I began my professional career as a graphic designer before moving into the IT department and later corporate training. Having a background in the visual arts made much of the concepts in this week’s readings familiar. While the practices seemed natural, I was not familiar with much of the terminology or the technical aspects supporting the practices.

Despite being unaware of the multimedia effect at the time of creation, I think the training I do today follows the principals fairly well. There are two main reasons for this adherence despite my ignorance. First, I do not want to read a long drawn out explanation and second, I do not want to type a long drawn out explanation. While the source is disputed, the phrase “a picture is worth a thousand words” has always served me well. Although I have been guilty of a few contiguity infractions such as using legends in more complex imagery followed by more detailed exploded views, all my training materials rely heavily on visual materials integrated with the text.

Regarding the choice between still images and animation, I found the results presented by Clark and Mayer (2008) to be unexpected. “Presumably the so called passive illustrations and text actually allowed for active processing”  (p. 84). I had not considered how animations might remove the onus from the learner by presenting all the information in precise detail, thus rendering them passive receivers of information. This e-learning scenario is no more innovative than the lecture model in traditional brick and mortar schools.  In order to ensure the users are engaged, it would be necessary to include behavioral activities that encourage generative processing, such as practice exercises which reference real world contexts.

I have enjoyed the way Clark and Mayer have introduced material, following the principles described in the book. Specifically, when a new topic is introduced, they reference previous knowledge learned in earlier chapters, thus guiding the reader to integrate the new information. For example, before introducing the various graphic types, in chapter 4, the authors remind us that deep learning is more likely when people “engage in relevant cognitive processing” (Clark & Mayer, 2008, p. 71). They continue by reminding that the instruction should “leverage both channels in ways that enable the learner to make sense out of the material” (Clark & Mayer, p. 74). We are also reminded of the engagement matrix introduced in chapter one, “Relevant visuals are one powerful method to support psychological engagement in the absence of behavioral activity (Clark & Mayer, p. 74). The result is a textbook which serves as a very practical guide to applying the introduced concepts and theories.

While the final reading, Five ways to reduce PowerPoint overload supported recaps many of the points presented in the text book, Atkinson and Mayer also provide excellent advice on how to make a better presentation. I do not like PowerPoint presentations. Perhaps that is because I have never seen a great one. I do not use PowerPoint in my corporate training efforts. Instead I create video demonstrations and software simulations using Captivate. In the modality principle, the authors address my biggest complaint with using PowerPoint for training. The notion that everything the instructor is to say is also on the slide. Although this may serve as a comfort for the speaker during the presentation, it is better to follow the multimedia principle. By incorporating images, you will better engage the learners instead of reducing the slides to a cheat sheet for your public speaking. I simple do not believe anyone in my target audience of literate adult learners would benefit from me simply reading what is displayed on screen.

Atkinson, C., & Mayer, R. E. (2004). Five ways to reduce PowerPoint overload. Retrieved from http://edtech.mrooms.org/pluginfile.php/87052/mod_resource/content/1/Five%20Ways%20to%20Reduce%20PowerPoint%20Overload.pdf

Clark, R. C., & Mayer, R. E. (2008). E-learning and the science of instruction: Proven guidelines for consumers and designers of multimedia learning (3rd ed.). San Francisco, CA: Wiley.

Leave a comment